Sailing Club of Washington
Contact Us SCOW Facebook Page  SCOW Picasa Page 

Sailing Club of Washington (SCOW)
PO Box 25884
Alexandria, VA 22313

We sail out of the Washington Sailing Marina
1 Marina Dr, Alexandria, VA 22314
(1.7 miles south of Ronald Reagan National Airport)

SCOW is a 501(c)(7) organization that was originally chartered on July 12, 1966 "to provide the membership thereof with the opportunity and instrumentalities to become expert in the art of sailing for their individual and mutual education, benefit and enjoyment."

Over 50 years later, SCOW continues to adhere to its purpose, providing its 400+ members with an environment for fellowship and a never-ending education in the art of sailing.  We offer classes, individual use of our boats, club sponsored activities and a place for our members to come together and enjoy the sport and recreation of sailing.

Membership is open to anyone who has an interest in sailing and is willing to help out.  Our club is staffed entirely with volunteers who manage the training, skipper certification, boat maintenance, and other activities that keep the club running.  We rely on all members to contribute in some way to the club, from helping to keep the boats clean and in good repair to assisting with social events.  Our fleet of keelboat "cruisers" and centerboard Flying Scots is maintained primarily by our members, our courses are taught by member volunteers, and all our business affairs are managed by the following volunteer board of directors. 







Richard Kaiser

Brian McPherson
Vice Commodore

Wayne Williams

Mike Hooban








Training Director

Chip Lubsen
Skipper Director

Marie Brennan
Social Director

Carlie Smith
River/Bay Director


Dana Howe
Flying Scot Maintenance Director

Vincent Penoso
Cruiser Maintenance Director

Dave Beckett
Racing Director

Barry Yatt
Membership Director




John Rogers
Chair of Training and Skipper Certification Committee

 John Kauffman
Chair of Boat Assets Committee

TSCC Members
Jay Weitzel; Joe Depoorter; 
Barbara (Barby) Ullman; Dan Sandhaus;  John Kauffman; Dave Beckett; Steve Youngblood -Training Director; Chip Lubsen - Skipper Director; 
Brian McPherson, Vice Commodore;



BAC Members

Luis Rivas; David Wilburn;
Dana Howe; Dick Vida; 
Steve Youngblood, Training Director; Richard Kaiser, Commodore; Brian McPherson, Vice Commodore

Chair of Investments Committee
 Luis Rivas & John Kauffman
Co-Chairs of Audit Committee

Investment Committee Members


Audit Committee Members
Ben Kelly




Channels Editor

Jeff Teitel
Email Administrator




George Clark
SmugMug Pictures Administrator

Luis Rivas
Web Editor

Genevieve Lindsay
Meetup/Facebook Coordinator

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software