Home  
About US
Contact Us SCOW Facebook Page  SCOW Picasa Page 

Sailing Club of Washington (SCOW)
PO Box 25884
Alexandria, VA 22313

SCOW is a 501(c)(7) organization that was originally chartered on July 12, 1966 "to provide the membership thereof with the opportunity and instrumentalities to become expert in the art of sailing for their individual and mutual education, benefit and enjoyment."

Over 50 years later, SCOW continues to adhere to its purpose, providing its 400+ members with an environment for fellowship and a never-ending education in the art of sailing.  We offer classes, individual use of our boats, club sponsored activities and a place for our members to come together and enjoy the sport and recreation of sailing.

Membership is open to anyone who has an interest in sailing and is willing to help out.  Our club is staffed entirely with volunteers who manage the training, skipper certification, boat maintenance, and other activities that keep the club running.  We rely on all members to contribute in some way to the club, from helping to keep the boats clean and in good repair to assisting with social events.  Our fleet of keelboat "cruisers" and centerboard Flying Scots is maintained primarily by our members, our courses are taught by member volunteers, and all our business affairs are managed by the following volunteer board of directors. 

 

 OFFICERS


 

 

 

 

Richard Kaiser
Commodore
commodore@scow.org

Brian McPherson
Vice Commodore
vice@scow.org

Wayne Williams
Secretary
secretary@scow.org

Mike Hooban
Treasurer
treasurer@scow.org

 

DIRECTORS


 

 

 

 

 

Steve Youngblood
Training Director
training@scow.org

Chip Lubsen
Skipper Director
skipper@scow.org

Marie Brennan
Social Director
social@scow.org

Carlie Smith
River/Bay Director
river@scow.org

 


Dana Howe
Flying Scot Maintenance Director
scotmaint@scow.org

Vincent Penoso
Cruiser Maintenance Director
cruisermaint@scow.org

Dave Beckett
Racing Director
racing@scow.org

Barry Yatt
Membership Director
membership@scow.org

 

 BOARD APPOINTEES


 

John Rogers
Chair of Training and Skipper Certification Committee
scow-tscc@googlegroups.com.

 John Kauffman
Chair of Boat Assets Committee
BAC@scow.org
 

TSCC Members
Jay Weitzel; Joe Depoorter; 
Barbara (Barby) Ullman; Dan Sandhaus; 
 John Kauffman; Dave Beckett; Steve Youngblood -Training Director; Chip Lubsen - Skipper Director; 
Brian McPherson, Vice Commodore;

 

 

BAC Members

Luis Rivas; David Wilburn;
Dana Howe; Dick Vida; 
Steve Youngblood, Training Director; Richard Kaiser, Commodore; Brian McPherson, Vice Commodore

   
   
 Vacant
Chair of Investments Committee
investment@scow.org
 Luis Rivas & John Kauffman
Co-Chairs of Audit Committee
audit@scow.org
 

Investment Committee Members
Vacant

 

Audit Committee Members
Ben Kelly

 


 

 

Vacant
Channels Editor
editor@scow.org

Jeff Teitel
Email Administrator
postmaster@scow.org



 

  

 


George Clark
SmugMug Pictures Administrator
pictures@scow.org

Luis Rivas
Web Editor
webmaster@scow.org

Genevieve Lindsay
Meetup/Facebook Coordinator
meetupcoord@scow.org

© Sailing Club of Washington
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software