About US
Contact Us SCOW Facebook Page  SCOW Picasa Page 

Sailing Club of Washington (SCOW)
PO Box 25884
Alexandria, VA 22313

SCOW is a 501(c)(7) organization that was originally chartered on July 12, 1966 "to provide the membership thereof with the opportunity and instrumentalities to become expert in the art of sailing for their individual and mutual education, benefit and enjoyment."

SCOW adheres to its purpose over 45 years later, providing its 400+ members with an environment for a never ending education in the art of sailing.  We offer classes, individual use of our boats, club sponsored activities and a place for sailors in the D.C. area to come together and enjoy the sport and recreation of sailing.

Membership is open to anyone who has an interest in sailing and is willling to help out.  Our club is staffed entirely with volunteers who manage the training, skipper certification, boat maintenance, and other activities that keep the club running.  We rely on all members to contribute in some way to the club, from helping to keep the boats clean and in good repair to assisting with social events.  Our fleet of three cruiser boats and five Flying Scots is maintained primarily by our members, our courses are taught by member volunteers, and all our business affairs are managed by the following volunteer board of directors. 

 

 OFFICERS


 

 

 

 Joe Bonanni

Chris Tindal
Commodore
commodore@scow.org

Luis Rivas
Vice Commodore
vice@scow.org

Rob Reuter
Secretary
secretary@scow.org

Adam Cromie
Treasurer
treasurer@scow.org

 

DIRECTORS


 

 

 

 

 

David Beckett
Training Director
training@scow.org

Dan Sandhaus
Skipper Director
skipper@scow.org

Chris McGraw
Social Director
social@scow.org

Jim Talley
Maintenance Director
maintdir@scow.org

 

Kristine Sadusky
River/Bay Director
river@scow.org

Julian Mallett
Racing Director
racing@scow.org

Barbara Thacker
Membership Director
membership@scow.org

 

 BOARD APPOINTEES


   

John Rogers
Chair of Training and Skipper Certification Committee
TSCC@scow.org

 Alex White
Chair of Boat Assets Committee
BAC@scow.org
 

TSCC Members
John Rodgers, Jay Weitzel, Barb Ullman, Mary Bashore, Joe Deporter, Kyoko Kawai, Jonathan Thron, Tom Vaughan, Anne Reb, Chris McGraw

 

BAC Members
Tom Vandenbosche, Kyoko Kawai, Mark Hogan, Jim Klein, Chris Tindal, Luis Rivas, John Roland, Stuart Ullman, Thom Unger, Declan Conroy, Chris McGraw

   
   
 Ron Sheldon
Chair of Investments Committee
investment@scow.org
 Mahl Avila
Chair of Audit Committee
audit@scow.org
 

Investment Committee Members
Ron Sheldon, Mark Hogan, Doug Roark, Kyoko Kawai, Chris McGraw

 

Audit Committee Members
Mahl Avila, Rich Chan, Ron Sheldon, Kyoko Kawai

 

 

 

 

Barbara Thacker
Channels Editor
editor@scow.org

Henry Cheng
Membership Coordinator
members@scow.org

Jeff Teitel
Email Administrator
postmaster@scow.org

 

 

 

Charles Gilbert
Picasa Pictures
pictures@scow.org

Luis Rivas
Web Editor
webmaster@scow.org

Sandy Schaefer
Meetup/Facebook Coordinator
meetupcoord@scow.org

© Sailing Club of Washington
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software